"Logon Faliure": Password was rejected

Discussion regarding the Standard version.
Post Reply
mediaboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:26 pm

"Logon Faliure": Password was rejected

Post by mediaboy » Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:34 pm

Hi I setup MailEnable yeterday and have not been able to retrieve mail via pop successfully. I am getting an error saying that the password is incorrect. But I know it is.

Here is the error I am getting from my email client:

Image

Again, I know that the username and password are correct. Something else is happening here.

Thanks in advance for your help!!

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Sun Mar 06, 2005 11:42 pm


paarlberg
Posts: 1071
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA

Post by paarlberg » Mon Mar 07, 2005 6:08 am

Did you cut and paste or import the password? If so, look for a space at the end as this has burned me a couple times..

You can find the problem if you look in the file called auth.tab.

mediaboy
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 6:26 pm

Nothing yet...

Post by mediaboy » Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:42 pm

Nothing is working still (Thanks for the responses, though!)

I reinstalled the software and checked the auth.tab file. Still telling me I am using the wrong username and password. SO ODD! There is something happening in the communication of the password OR in the settings. What could it be?

I really want to be a customer but if I can't log in to the software...

Any other suggestions?

Here are screencaps of the settings in MailEnable and Outlook. Feel free to try and login!

Image

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:00 am

Hi,

Ensure that the username is correct (In the screenshot for account name you have: 123@sprungmedia.com, ensure that the postofficename part is correct. Do not use the domian name you need to use the postoffice name. (IE: 123@sprungmedia).

regards,

plangtry

same problem

Post by plangtry » Tue May 17, 2005 1:05 pm

I'm having the same problem. Has anyone come up with a solution? I am using Windows Server 2003 on my server. I have outlook 2003 installed on a different system and I am trying to retrieve mail. It keeps saying the password or username is incorrect.

Paul

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Tue May 17, 2005 11:38 pm

Hi,

What error is displayed in Outlook 2003 when you try and send? Ensure that you have the setting "My server requires authentication" in the Outlook account settings.

This KB article can assist in troubleshooting mail client connectivity:
http://www.mailenable.com/kb/viewarticl ... 020075.htm

regards,

plangtry
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 2:30 pm

login failure

Post by plangtry » Wed May 18, 2005 2:38 pm

We can check our mail through mail2web.com, but Outlook is saying the username or password is incorrect. Any ideas? Even stranger is the fact that some of my coworkers can check their mail via Outlook without porblem. I have all accounts set the same, or so I think.

Any ideas?

Paul

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Wed May 18, 2005 11:59 pm

Hi,

Can you please provide the Outlook error and error code that is displayed when the failure occurs.

regards,

sdewitt
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA USA

Post by sdewitt » Sat May 21, 2005 5:21 am

I get this too from only one user. If I reset his password it will work for a little while and then it starts failing again. I know the password has not changed because he can still get in through webmail. STRANGE THING is he has two mail account on my server one NEVER has problems and one does. TWO different domains.

Shannon

mjohann
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:41 pm

password is rejected and I know it is correct

Post by mjohann » Wed Oct 05, 2005 10:43 pm

This is a new install and I have checked and rechecked, set and reset the passwork and I get the same error about incorrect password
Michael J

Post Reply