Another MX or smarthost

Discussions on webmail and the Professional version.
Post Reply
webdir
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 6:57 pm

Another MX or smarthost

Post by webdir » Tue Jul 11, 2006 7:42 pm

If I wanted to have ME as a backup mail server for an existing exchange server (for when exchange goes down).

Should I just setup ME with all the mailboxes as exchange and setup another MX record set to 10 (and set exchange's mx record to 1)?

or

Should I setup ME as a smarthost for exchange?

rockinthesixstring
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:51 am
Location: Canada

Post by rockinthesixstring » Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:27 am

i would set Exchange up as MX1 with a value of 10
and ME as MX2 with a value of 20

then i would smarthost all email from ME over to Exchange

what will happen is when exchange goes down, ME will collect all the email and then when Exchange goes back up, ME will send all the mail over to Exchange.

the only other way to do this is with ME Enterprise, you can cluster your Mail servers and when one goes down the other takes over on the same domain and ip address. then your clients and send an recieve mail with out ever knowing the difference.
Chase
Server 2008 Standard (x64)
ME Ent 6.51 (SQL Server 2008 Config)
ASSP 1.9

labsy
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:49 am
Location: Slovenia

Post by labsy » Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:59 am

rockinthesixstring wrote:...the only other way to do this is with ME Enterprise, you can cluster your Mail servers and when one goes down the other takes over on the same domain and ip address. then your clients and send an recieve mail with out ever knowing the difference.
I have setup my ME Pro with simillar functionality, two ME Pro on different locations, supported with both, secondary MX and failover DNS, which routes mail.domain.com to another IP if port 25 on primary IP is not reachable. So users can send and RECEIVE mail without noticing the difference.
Image
Windows Hosting Sollutions Provider
http://www.hostmachine.net

webdir
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 6:57 pm

One last ?

Post by webdir » Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:16 pm

Thanks for the responses (big kudos to rockinthesixstring).

One last question, do I need to only setup the exchange's domain in ME or just the exchange's domain and mailboxes in ME?



(when considering = "i would set Exchange up as MX1 with a value of 10
and ME as MX2 with a value of 20

then i would smarthost all email from ME over to Exchange

what will happen is when exchange goes down, ME will collect all the email and then when Exchange goes back up, ME will send all the mail over to Exchange.")

rockinthesixstring
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:51 am
Location: Canada

Post by rockinthesixstring » Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:50 pm

all you need to do is setup the domains in ME. setting up the mailboxes will be a HUGE pain.

your setup is exactly like mine except i am using ME for both servers.

:wink:

glad i could help
Chase
Server 2008 Standard (x64)
ME Ent 6.51 (SQL Server 2008 Config)
ASSP 1.9

webdir
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 6:57 pm

Suppose I don't want to smarthost all the ME domains

Post by webdir » Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:20 pm

Since I am currently using ME for client mail and Exchange for bus mail. I could only smarthost my bus mail domain through ME and ME will still function for client mail?

rockinthesixstring
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 7:51 am
Location: Canada

Post by rockinthesixstring » Wed Jul 12, 2006 6:48 pm

you are outside my realm when it comes to Exchange... sorry.
Chase
Server 2008 Standard (x64)
ME Ent 6.51 (SQL Server 2008 Config)
ASSP 1.9

paarlberg
Posts: 1071
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA

Post by paarlberg » Thu Jul 13, 2006 1:09 am

Do you have 2 domains or are they sub-domains under 1?

Give a little more info on the client and business mail scenarios?

Post Reply