TLS in MEpro 3.x

Discussions on webmail and the Professional version.
Post Reply
merk
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:50 pm

TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by merk » Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:03 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to enable TLS so that i can use this with gmail. But I'm getting an error 454 tls not available.

I've never used TLS before so I'm not sure what needs to be done. I have checked the box in the SMTP properties to enable it, but still no good.

I searched the online KB and manual but didn't see anything about how to configure the server to allow TLS use.

thanks

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:10 am

Hi,

What version of MailEnable 3 are you running?
Regards,

Ian Margarone
MailEnable Support

merk
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:50 pm

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by merk » Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:12 am

3.64 pro

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Tue Jul 20, 2010 3:27 am

Hi,

Where are you seeing the error "454 tls not available"? Is it in a bounce message from Gmail when sending to MailEnable?
Regards,

Ian Margarone
MailEnable Support

merk
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:50 pm

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by merk » Tue Jul 20, 2010 4:24 am

it when i try to set it up so that my ME server is used to send the email instead of gmail.

merk
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:50 pm

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by merk » Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:12 am

i just enabled the alternate port 587 and tried telling google to use this to send email. The error i get back from google is:

Authentication failed. Please check your username/password.
[Server response: 454 TLS not available due to temporary reason code(454) ]

I know the user/pass i'm using is correct - i can use it to log into the webmail

Am i required to get an SSL cert to use TLS? I've left the box UNchecked for google to always use SSL. If i am required to get a cert, can i generate one myself? i really dont want to pay for a cert since i'm the only one using this feature right now.

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:18 am

Hi,

Yes you will require to obtain an SSL certificate in order to use TLS. Try these links:

How to create a self-signed certificate: http://www.dylanbeattie.net/docs/openss ... howto.html

How to install the certificate in IIS 7: http://blogs.techrepublic.com.com/howdoi/?p=159
Regards,

Ian Margarone
MailEnable Support

merk
Posts: 418
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 2:50 pm

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by merk » Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:42 am

thanks - i was just able to get it working using a cert that was installed on another site i host. But i'd rather use one not associated with a web site. Can you double check that first link you posted? Is this the correct link? http://www.dylanbeattie.net/docs/openss ... howto.html

thanks

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9227
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: TLS in MEpro 3.x

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:52 am

Hi,

Yes that the correct link.
Regards,

Ian Margarone
MailEnable Support

Post Reply