How can we enable Filters Services

Discussions on webmail and the Professional version.
Post Reply
sab
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:52 pm

How can we enable Filters Services

Post by sab » Mon Jan 10, 2005 9:20 am

Hi,

Using ME Pro 1.54 and Norton AV Corp, with testing show it works fine. The filter for antivirus is enable and action used, however noted the follwoing at the bottom of the filter page:

"Filters are currently disabled, so this filter will not occur until you have enabled the MailEnable MTA Messenger Filter through the MTA Agent Properties page."

I looked at the MTA Properties and couldn't find a command to enable or disalbe the filter services, and now the virus are not catched by the Norton.

How can I solve this problem, appreciate your guidance.

Regards
SAB

nathand
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:34 am
Location: Richardson, TX

Post by nathand » Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:00 pm

I just noticed, that I have the same problem.

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9218
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:01 pm

Hi,

Navigate to Mailenable Management>Servers>localhost>Filters in the Mailenable Administration program and right click on Filters. In the opening window you will be able disable/enable the filters.

Regards,

nathand
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:34 am
Location: Richardson, TX

Post by nathand » Mon Jan 10, 2005 11:07 pm

Thanks for the help.

sab
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:52 pm

How can we enable Filters Services

Post by sab » Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:07 am

Dear Ben,

Thanks a lot... It worked.

Regards
SAB

gspelvin
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 7:47 pm

No option to enable filtering

Post by gspelvin » Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:03 pm

I have exactly the same problem - the messaging\manager | New | New Filter always gives me that message about filtering being disabled and checking the MTA properties... However the MTA properties has no filtering/Antivirus tab - just the MTA tab. I've looked into the MMC under MailEnable\Server\localhost\Filter\MailEnable Message Filter and there is not "enable" option on it's properties. in the right hand pane ther is the MailEnable Antivirus Filter which indicates it is enabled and it's properties has no options to enable anything else. What else do I need to do to be able to enable a filter (diagnostic shows ME Pro V1.54 and a valid license)

MailEnable-Ian
Site Admin
Posts: 9218
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 4:44 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Post by MailEnable-Ian » Thu Jan 13, 2005 11:19 pm

Hi,


Right click on this exact location in the mailenable adminstration program:
Mailenable Management>Servers>localhost>filters. And open the properties page.

Regards,

Post Reply