How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Discussion forum for Enterprise Edition.
Post Reply
kiamori
Posts: 307
Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2009 1:39 am
Contact:

How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Post by kiamori » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:37 pm

How can we force the X-ME-Spam checks server wide or post office wide?

Currently this only functions at a mailbox level when a user goes into options > Spam > Enable Mailbox Spam Filtering

How can we force this check before the server side checks so the results can be filtered from Messaging Manager > Filters ?


I'm looking for a rule like this to work:

FilterResult=0
If CriteriaMet([ME_HEADERS_CONTAIN],"X-ME-Spam: High*") Then
FilterResult=1
End If

scotty562
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Post by scotty562 » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:12 pm

Any follow up on this? I'd like this too.

dcol
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 11:25 pm

Re: How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Post by dcol » Sat Aug 21, 2021 8:53 pm

My guess is you can just add that script as a custom criteria script in filter management. Then create the actions you want for that script.
I am using Enterprise, not sure if that exists for other versions.

lewiskerns
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:22 pm

Re: How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Post by lewiskerns » Fri Aug 12, 2022 2:06 pm

I know this is really old, but I've been working on this issue lately myself. Here is a solution that is partially working for me and maybe someone can help make this more effective.

I created a new filter that searches for "X-ME-SPAM: High" in the message header. If found, the filter adds another header item, quarantines the message, then deletes it. I then Re-Ordered the filters so that the [System Spam Filter] executes just before my new filter hoping that my filter would catch the X-ME-SPAM tag the system spam filter adds.

I can find some emails in the quarantine folder with the new filter tag, letting me know process worked. However, I still find emails delivered to my inbox that contain the X-ME-SPAM: high, which means my filter missed them. I'm still trying to find a more bullet proof way to make this work, but its an improvement.

Hoe this helps. And if anyone can improve on this solution, please do.

filter.png
filter.png (165.74 KiB) Viewed 540 times
order.png
order.png (82.7 KiB) Viewed 540 times

dcol
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 11:25 pm

Re: How to run the X-ME-Spam: High filter for passthrough/smarthost domains?

Post by dcol » Fri Aug 12, 2022 3:17 pm

Thanks, helpful.

Post Reply