forgot password?

Discussion, support and announcements for third party applications that work with MailEnable.
Post Reply
gchacko
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 7:57 pm

forgot password?

Post by gchacko » Sun Jun 04, 2006 4:15 pm

Do any version of Mailenable give users the option (for webmail) to click on a link and have their password emailed to them if they lost it or forgot it?

DaRocker22
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 4:02 am

Post by DaRocker22 » Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:23 am

No, there is no version of MailEnable that I know that has this option.

MrByte
Posts: 663
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 5:33 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: forgot password?

Post by MrByte » Sun Jun 18, 2006 5:48 am

gchacko wrote:Do any version of Mailenable give users the option (for webmail) to click on a link and have their password emailed to them if they lost it or forgot it?

Interesting. If they lost the password, how will they read the mail? Unless they also have a POP/IMAP account setup with an E-mail client and has the password saved and can read the mails....
.MrByte

Smurf
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:42 pm

Post by Smurf » Mon Jun 19, 2006 7:26 am

This would be a useful addition.

whgpjay
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: Long Island, NY, USA

Post by whgpjay » Mon Jun 19, 2006 2:53 pm

I think this would be useful as well. As I see it, this can either be done by either asking users for a "backup" e-mail address and/or using a secret question and answer for password resets.

DaRocker22
Posts: 214
Joined: Wed May 03, 2006 4:02 am

Post by DaRocker22 » Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:06 pm

This can easily be done by creating your own forgot password application if you are using a database backend for the configuration of MailEnable, just add an additional field(s) for other e-mail, or secret question/answer and create a simple asp, asp.net, or php script to query the database and do the work.

Post Reply